05-24-2014, 01:37 PM
  • Giorgio
  • Pennsylvania, US
User Info
Greetings gentlemen...

I have been meaning share my thoughts on the Lord Randal Silvertip brush for some time now, but between a FT job, grad program, and a 1.5 yr old little man, trying to find the time to sit down and collect my thoughts on virtual paper is a challenge to say the least Blush...

However, my delay also brought about an advantage where I was able to put it down and come back and revisit the brush after a few weeks. I believe this gave me a better and more realistic perspective on where it stands in my collection. While I also have the LR in natural white horse hair, I'll stay focused on the silvertip since I haven't seen too much discussion on it. Let me also state that I'm not a pro photographer like some of our other fine members, so my apologies in advance for the "basic" photos Tongue

Speaking of photos, here it is in full bloom on the right next to the natural horse hair:

[Image: I2pePZS.png]

I'll start with the "break-in"/de-funk: The Lord Randal is my first Vie-Long badger experience. The force (i.e. funk) was strong with this one...Star-wars-smiley-023...took me over a week of daily lathering until my sensitive nose could no longer pick up on any unpleasantries. And it wasn't so much badger as it was a "chemical" smell. Also to my touch the bristles initially felt like they were coated with something. This is all compared to what I've seen in other new brushes I purchase. For me, it was a non-issue, but it did delay actual face time...so if I absolutely HAD to fault it for anything, this would be it. I know many don't believe in "break-in" of a badger brush, but I will say that this brush certainly did change its feel and behavior after a few weeks of use...mainly I find it much softer, and I'm pretty confident that this isn't a case where my face just grew accustomed to it.

On to the good stuff...