06-09-2014, 01:35 AM
User Info
I was in a Whole Foods supermarket recently looking at their shaving products and noticed this brush, which is billed as a vegan alternative to animal-based products.

I was intrigued and decided to give it a try. It's only around $20.

I am quite new to using brushes. The other one I own, bought around the same time, is the Omega Pro 48. The Kelley Quan is smaller and more slender. Her background is in women's makeup brushes, and the shape of her shaving brush is more along those lines.

So far, based on my limited experience, it is doing a nice job. It feels nice (it's soft, not "scrubby") but is strong enough to whip up lather from a hard triple-milled soap. It also performs well with the Taylors of Old Bond Street creams.

Another nice thing is that Kelley herself answers e-mails. She's amazingly responsive (she even wrote back on a weekend) and is keen to hear feedback. I haven't seen anything else so far.

8 896
 06-09-2014, 03:09 AM
User Info
Here's what the KQ looks like. When I get a chance, I'll do some proper measurements and try to get a bit more technical.

[Image: wG4ROh7.jpg]

8 896
 06-09-2014, 07:49 AM
User Info
Wow! That is a very different-looking brush!
If you want vegan-alternative brushes, then most of the synthetics out there would be much better purchase, in my opinion. Whipped Dog synthetics are quite inexpensive and might work out better than this brush, but YMMV!
Good luck.

82 21,056
 06-09-2014, 07:55 AM
  • Johnny
  • MODERATOR EMERITUS
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
(06-09-2014, 07:49 AM)celestino Wrote: Wow! That is a very different-looking brush!
If you want vegan-alternative brushes, then most of the synthetics out there would be much better purchase, in my opinion. Whipped synthetics are quite inexpensive and might work out better than this brush, but YMMV!
Good luck.

As usual, Mr. Celestino is correct again.

175 23,752
 06-09-2014, 09:24 AM
User Info