06-11-2014, 03:56 AM
User Info
gents,

I'm a newbie to making coffee outside of using a coffee pot, but at most, I'll drink 1-2 cups, if I ever do drink coffee.

what's the best thing that'll suit my needs to accomplish this without a lot of waste?

I plan on buying quality, whole beans and grind them just before use, if this is the advisable thing to do.

also, I don't mind spending some money, though I certainly don't want to spend a fortune.

40 5,830
 06-11-2014, 06:20 AM
  • Barrylu
  • Portland OR
User Info
(06-11-2014, 03:56 AM)andrewjs18 Wrote: gents,

I'm a newbie to making coffee outside of using a coffee pot, but at most, I'll drink 1-2 cups, if I ever do drink coffee.

what's the best thing that'll suit my needs to accomplish this without a lot of waste?

I plan on buying quality, whole beans and grind them just before use, if this is the advisable thing to do.

also, I don't mind spending some money, though I certainly don't want to spend a fortune.
Any of these should meet your needs:
http://www.sweetmarias.com/store/brewing...ource=grid
yes it is absolutely necessary to grind your beans just before use.Here don't skimp on cost. Get a burr grinder not a blade grinder. I used to like the coffee at a dinner on Snyder Ave in S.Philly. Cant remember the name now.

68 1,068
 06-11-2014, 08:57 AM
  • freddy
  • Banned
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
I have an Aeropress and find it makes a very pleasant cup of coffee.

2 11,211
 06-11-2014, 09:02 AM
User Info
+1 that the AeroPress is the way to go for brewing a cup at a time. Easy use and cleanup and delivers one of the smoothest cups of coffee you can make yourself.

31 8,057
 06-11-2014, 09:12 AM
  • v4257
  • Always chasing the perfect shave
  • Boston, USA
User Info
I would recommend taking a look at cafetiere if you haven't already - for e.g. http://bodum.bodum.com/us/en-us/shop/detail/1928-16US4/