05-15-2012, 02:28 PM
  • Philbo
  • West Midlands, UK
User Info
It is a few weeks away yet but I am thinking about getting the old man some shaving products for Fathers Day, It's a guaranteed win as this is something he will use and enjoy, he is tricky to buy for and always has been lol, with him returning to traditional wet shaving it's perfect timing.

The question is what to get him, I am asking for some ideas please guys if possible. For those who don't know I am a newbie to the traditional wet shaving after the old man introduced me a week or so ago, with so many products available I find myself overwhelmed choosing a starting point for myself let alone purchasing gifts, any suggestions would be hugely grateful

0 62
 05-15-2012, 02:52 PM
User Info
I'd take a look in his shave cabinet and find out what he has/doesn't have.

I could list all the kit required, but you know it also. It needs to be brought to his level and only you can do that.

32 6,309
 05-15-2012, 02:59 PM
User Info
Yeah, I think it will depend on what kind of kit he is already using and finding out some general things that he likes. He is more of a soap or cream kinda guy? Does he have a few good brushes? Could he use another brush, or maybe a vintage razor that you find at a local antique shop and clean up for him. Lots of ideas here and Clap to you for getting into this and already wanting to get some for your dad and share the experience of traditional shaving together.

31 7,914
 05-15-2012, 03:13 PM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
I like Brian's idea of a vintage find. A razor from his past or even birth year would make a special gift IMO and with a little work (cleaning tips can be found on the forum) you could turn an inexpensive antique score in to a beautiful nostalgic gift.