07-22-2014, 07:06 PM
  • dimitrof
  • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
User Info
Hi everyone,

I'm new to The Shave Nook and the online universe of traditional wet shaving.

I'm also pretty new to the art itself - I have between 6 months and a year of experience shaving with DE razors. So far, it's been a wonderful journey! I often have a beard, but had to lop it off for a job interview and haven't grown it back since.

My first and only DE razor to date is the Merkur 37C slant. I bought it on advice from a friend, who thought it would work well for my coarse facial hair and sensitive skin. It performs wonderfully for me most of the time, but I get some occasional redness and irritation on my neck (between chin and Adam's apple). I typically use Astra SP and Feather blades. They are effective and generally comfortable.

I am curious about getting a new razor - perhaps a non-slant. I was just wondering if this is a good move, or a step that might not be very fruitful. While I enjoy my Merkur 37C, I am interested in seeing what improvements/difference, if any, a non-slant DE would bring.

Does anyone have any recommendations or thoughts? Specific models of non-slant I've considered are the Edwin Jagger DE89 (also the DE89 Barley model), the Muhle R89 (also the R89 Grande), and the Merkur 38C barberpole.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

-Alex

5 57
 07-22-2014, 07:46 PM
  • ischiapp
  • Ischia, Naples, Italy
User Info
(07-22-2014, 07:06 PM)dimitrof Wrote: ... I get some occasional redness and irritation on my neck (between chin and Adam's apple).
Gear in use is not important as technique you use with it: study your Face Mapping, and take your time.

All the shaver above are good choices. Wink

0 1,140
 07-22-2014, 07:59 PM
User Info
Alex, firstly, welcome to The Shave Nook. If you have time, you should introduce yourself in the 'Introductions' section.