08-09-2014, 05:57 PM
  • mbrando
  • Bolingbrook, IL USA
User Info
Hello,

I've been honing straight razors for a few years now. There are many styles or ways hone razors. Some like coticules and slurry. I personally like grit progression 1K through 15K.

So back to my question. What do you like to finish on? I used to have this little black surgical hard Arkansas hone from Norton. I mean little it was like 2x3x1. But it worked so well. Lots of little strokes. Biggrin

I liked it so much that when I saw a full size black surgical hard Arkansas 3x8x1/2 at WoodCraft for $55 I bought it. Lapped it to near mirror and replace my little hone with the larger one.

I really like the black surgical hard Arkansas as a finisher after my 15K Chinese wet hone.

What do you use for finishing?

- Mike

0 108
 08-09-2014, 06:38 PM
User Info
Naniwa SS 12k is my finishing hone. I then go to CrOx.

50 6,431
 08-09-2014, 06:54 PM
  • mbrando
  • Bolingbrook, IL USA
User Info
Hello,

Have you had any issues with CrOx? I've heard rumors that it can gall or hallow the bevel making the edge not last as long, or so the rumor goes.

Do you use CrOx on balsa wood or leather?

- Mike

0 108
 08-10-2014, 07:09 AM
  • gijames
  • Mile High Soldier
  • TN, USA
User Info
Newer to the hone game..
The finishing hone for me
Naniwa Super 12k

Sometimes
CROx or Diamond spray as final gritty things

9 1,684
 08-11-2014, 11:24 AM
User Info
(08-09-2014, 05:57 PM)mbrando Wrote: Hello,

I've been honing straight razors for a few years now. There are many styles or ways hone razors. Some like coticules and slurry. I personally like grit progression 1K through 15K.

So back to my question. What do you like to finish on? I used to have this little black surgical hard Arkansas hone from Norton. I mean little it was like 2x3x1. But it worked so well. Lots of little strokes. Biggrin