08-24-2014, 08:00 PM
User Info
I'm new to double edge shaving and need some advice on which soaps/creams to try. Looking for a good classic variety.

22 103
 08-24-2014, 08:18 PM
User Info
The list is enormous!
Most of the artisanal soaps are fantastic and, in my opinion, better than the classic ones.
Take a look here to choose what you would like: http://www.bullgooseshaving.com/soaps-creams/

Good luck.

82 21,056
 08-24-2014, 09:08 PM
User Info
I agree that the artisan soaps may (no, WILL) surprise you. I'm also new and decided for my first soap to go with a "trusted" name out there. I don't remember how I settled on this one, but it was Geo F. Trumpers "Sandalwood" shaving soap. It almost made me give up right out of the gate I couldn't get it to lather. I tried a Stirling soap based on a recommendation before I gave up and got it to lather on my first try! Finally, a great shave!

I guess my point is not to assume the artisan soaps can't stand up to the traditional ones, and also to stay the hell away from Trumper soaps

16 249
 08-25-2014, 05:50 AM
  • Giorgio
  • Pennsylvania, US
User Info
As Celestino mentioned, the list is endless. I have way too many soaps to count and I still acquire more regularly as I see something that interests me.

I started really getting into wet shaving about 8 years ago , and I started with the some good staples that I still have in my den: Proraso green cream, Tabac soap , and Mitchell's Wool Fat soap. I found creams to be much easier for a new wetshaver to use and get a good lather out of versus soap. These days there are so many more choices. TSN hosts a list of fantastic artisans that make some of the best soaps I have tried.