08-30-2014, 07:56 AM
User Info
Greetings all. Newbie here. Hoping to get some help making a purchase decision. I want to get 2 new, stainless razors, one open comb and one standard.

For those who have used both, can you please compare performance & behavioral tendencies (not fit and finish) for the following:

iKon Standard Head DLC vs the ATT R1

and

iKon Open Comb DLC vs the ATT R2

I can get the iKon Bulldog handle and both baseplates for $180.
The ATT Kronos handle with both baseplates would be $258.

Honestly, I can afford to go with ATT, but I could also buy soap, blades, and aftershave with that extra $78.

Craftsmanship aside, is there really $78 worth of shaving performance difference between these brands?

0 9
 08-30-2014, 08:25 AM
User Info
I understand your concern.

Both are top notch manufacturer.

My recommendation is to buy ATT first , as it
Comes with 30 days no hassle return policy . Try both plates and see how it works
For you. If one works for you better and give you less iritation and close shave than keep it because is priceless :-)

I have ikon slant and ATT H1 and H2 plates and I like both razors. However , everyone experience would be different.

I hope that helps.

61 3,072
 08-30-2014, 08:31 AM
User Info
Welcome to The Shave Nook.

You will always get different opinions on which is better and is there really a difference when it comes down to the shave.
I have owned several ATT H1 razors and can attest this is an aggressive razor with fairly decent build quality.
made in USA

The iKon Standard DLC is one hell of a shaver. It seems aggressive yet smooth at the same time. Extremely high standards of manufacturing and build quality.

made in USA

121 13,127
 08-30-2014, 08:38 AM
  • Deuce
  • Just a guy
  • Cave Creek
User Info