09-04-2014, 11:34 PM
User Info
I have been enjoying and act of wet-shaving for about 2 years now and have been generally using only creams. I have been a lurker for almost the past year on this site, just acquiring information and doing my own research, however, I'm really trying to understand the differences between them; besides the obvious.

Honestly, I'm tired of the lack of "slick" I get with the few creams that I use daily. I'm about to start building a collection of things, but I want to truly know if soap if better.

Any solid info will do. Looking forward to getting an understanding and help on all of this.

1 1,975
 09-05-2014, 11:46 AM
User Info
My research into the subject suggests three major differences:

1. Soaps will have a higher percentage of sodium salt compared to potassium. Softer soaps may still have more K-based than Na-based.

2. Creams have a slightly different set of common oils (or fatty acids) that are used to make the soaps. In particular, I rarely see Mrystic Acid based soap listed on shaving soaps, but they're frequently in creams.

3. Creams generally have additional liquid and unsaponified oils added to the soap mass after the inital cook is over, to contribute to the creamy consistency and keep it loose.

10 1,858
 09-05-2014, 02:39 PM
User Info
I started with creams and croaps, then last year began using soaps also.

I find that I get the best lather and shaving performance when I mix a soap and a cream.

Can I get fantastic shaves from just using creams and soaps, yes.
But I feel I get a better performance from the superlather you get from mixing the two.

Creams are often better at lathering fast and for moisturizing the face.

Soaps are often better at creating a slick lather and not so much else to be honest. Soaps also tend to dry my face out more, than creams do.

So I find when I mix them together, I get slickness from the soap and all the rest from the cream Smile

24 5,843
 09-05-2014, 07:27 PM
User Info