09-05-2014, 04:20 PM
  • WriteNoob
  • Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
So, last Sunday I was doing my due diligence as a complete Noob to DE razors and shaving by listening to yet another episode of BnSnB, when the guys yen for vintage razors started kinda rub off, a bit. Being Sunday on Labor Day weekend, it was a certainty that none of the usual local sources were likely to be open, so I went to that place in the cloud, Ebay. Just to browse, mind you. Will of iron. No impulse buys.

Within about 30 minutes I'd realized a couple things. One: I was not about to be the owner of a Fat Boy, like Rick, from BnSnB. At least, not at $50+, which is what they were all going for. I did, however, find a number of Slims hovering around the $10 mark. This brought me to my next realization, that being that the old iron will was rusting at an amazing rate.

"Ho-oney? Would I be a terrible husband if I were to bid in an auction for a vintage Razor?"

I get silence. Then the voice I always hear when she thinks I'm about to buy something I'll only use for a week, maybe two, "How much?"

"Well, it's only at around ten bucks. I'm sure I can win it for under twenty five."

"Twenty five, huh? Yeah, we've got enough mad money (a slush account for frivolous purchases) to cover that."

So, I jump in and set my max limit at $26.95, just in case. It's only a buck ninety-five. Don't judge.

Got the razor for $24.32. It looked a bit scummy, but otherwise seemed in good shape. I got it in the mail, today. It's in great shape. No brassing, and only minor scuffing on the cap. Once it's cleaned up, I should have a really nice Gillette Slim. But here's the cool part. It's date marked M-4, which, according to my research, should be the fourth quarter of '67. I was born in November of that year, so just by chance, my first vintage razor is also a birth year razor, down to the quarter. I'm quite happy with it, and will be cleaning it up, this weekend.