10-21-2014, 08:12 AM
  • jostalli
  • Stockbridge, GA
User Info
Looks like I will be antiquing with the wife and daughter on Saturday. If I happen to run across any vintage safety razors what are the best choices for a newbie? Any to avoid?

0 15
 10-21-2014, 08:26 AM
  • Giorgio
  • Pennsylvania, US
User Info
For a newbie the first thing that comes to mind is a Gillette Tech. I can't can't think of what to avoid except be wary of overpriced items. Prices can quickly get out of hand when dealing with vintage items...

34 1,627
 10-21-2014, 08:34 AM
User Info
Agree with the Tech as a perfect starter razor.

Others to look for would be a Schick Krona or a Gillette Superspeed.

2 1,547
 10-21-2014, 08:47 AM
User Info
as a newbie i would have been attracted to anything that shaved Cool

look at all you can find and keep your $ below 20 Wink

7 1,624
 10-21-2014, 08:52 AM
User Info
I started with a Super Speed and got a Krona not too long after. In my opinion, both are suitable for a beginner. I have also seen the Tech mentioned frequently as a good newbie DE, though I've not tried one.

As far as what to avoid, I've read that slants aren't the best for beginners, though you're probably less likely to find a vintage slant in the US than in Europe, I think. I didn't find my first shave with a slant to be too much more difficult, but I had been shaving with a DE for a while by then.

0 1,097
 10-21-2014, 09:33 AM
User Info
Any of the vintage Gillettes, really.

Avoid anything that seems overly priced.

Good luck.

83 21,109
 10-21-2014, 10:42 AM
User Info
(10-21-2014, 08:12 AM)jostalli Wrote: Looks like I will be antiquing with the wife and daughter on Saturday. If I happen to run across any vintage safety razors what are the best choices for a newbie? Any to avoid?