11-16-2014, 09:30 AM
User Info
Hey Guys,

I'm a newbie when it comes to SR shaving. I bought several SRs on a whim because they caught my eye.

The issue that i'm having is that they are all shave ready, but when I watch instructional videos the movements that are made seem so smooth. When I repeat those motions; the razor feels jerky and stutter-y resulting in less than par shaves and blood loss.

I watched a Lynn Abrams video and he recommended that newbies just try to shave the cheek/sideburn area. I've been doing that and can do a decent job cleaning off a flat area with the grain, but against the grain it's jitter city.

Most of my razors are extra hollow or hollow ground. What i'm wondering is should I try with a thicker grind or work on my technique?

Thanks!

23 655
 11-16-2014, 09:43 AM
  • jamesrobson5
  • Chubby Chaser... Big Brush is Best!
  • Sherwood Park AB Canada!
User Info
Work on your technique. When you figure out the blade angle and gain confidence you will get your smooth shaves. Keep with Lynn Abrams advice and use short strokes on your cheeks and you'll get there. It a big learning curve but its great when you get a smooth comfortable shave this way. The coolest part is when you realize that your 5 o'clock shadow shows up late. Good Luck!

28 1,622
 11-16-2014, 05:19 PM
  • geezer
  • Menomonie, Western WI
User Info
If your razor is laid too close to your face, it sticks. About two spine widths see to do it..some plus and minus may be needed.
Not all purchased "Shave Ready" razors are!! Many guys are put off a good shave because of marketing BS.
Send one out to a good hone person and see if there is an improvement.
~Richard
Do a search for "Razor sharpening"
http://shavenook.com/thread-straight-razor-honing

8 1,194
 11-16-2014, 06:08 PM
  • MikekiM
  • Long Island, NY
User Info