06-02-2012, 11:03 AM
User Info
I decided today was the day to end my experiment with a trimmed Semogue 1250 boar brush and do some work on it to get it ready for a reknot.

Long story made short, I'm impressed with the way they build their brushes! But I'm no brush expert either, just to put that comment into perspective. But if I was building brushes, that's the way I would have come up with. It's overengineered to the max!

Now the longer story. The metal ring seen from outside between the bristle and the handle? That's the top flange of a collar that the bristles set in, but that's not the entire story. The bristles are impregnated with resin just slightly higher than that ring. From there to the full depth of the hole (3/4") is solid resin and bristle inside that aluminum collar. To guild the lily that aluminum collar is pressed (constricted) to form a sort of wasp waist and further hold the bristles. Of course this entire assembly is epoxied into the hole. No way, other than with drill and other similar means, is one of their brushes ever coming apart. It'll certainly never come apart in normal use.

32 6,308
 06-02-2012, 11:09 AM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
Brian, good info. You can see this more clearly on one of their clear plexi handles. Depending on which color epoxy they use, black, red, or blue.

I agree, they are a very well made brush.

173 23,500
 06-02-2012, 11:36 AM
User Info
I also agree.

I had an 1800 kindly gifted to me from a good friend. The knot was bent so I steamed it out using Teiste's method as the knot was set bent in the handle.

When the was removed, i was quite impressed too.

I had to grind a bit of the epoxy away so the knot would sit straight and then re epoxy'd it back in.

It's been a great brush since!

7 1,179
 06-02-2012, 11:44 AM
User Info