01-08-2015, 12:32 PM
User Info
Curious to know when, if any, of you men thought of shaving as any form of a rite of passage. I surely do and would like to share with you, mine.

---
I use to only keep a fairly small goatee and thin side burns that connected to it (a typical African American style). However, I always got really bad ingrown hairs on my neck, from when i shaved using cartridges. I never knew about wet shaving, being that I was never taught to shave. My father wasn't around when i was of age to learn, so my only recollection of shaving, was getting "lined up"at the barbershop in the neighborhood.

When i got to be 25 years of age, i started learning how to cut my own hair in order to save a lil' cash. I was pretty good at it, though never receiving any formal training. I figured too around this time, that i needed to change my face look up but didn't want to keep using carts because of the razor burn and ingrown hairs. So after some good research, i found out about wet shaving. I didn't actually take the plunge until sometime later but found that it might do wonders for my face. I still stuck to my cartridges, and just wasn't really inspired to let them go. Never liked how i looked clean shaving, so i always kept some sort of mustache and chin hair.

After maybe 3 years of cutting my own hair, i really took to noticing how my hairline was thinning. It was getting to a point that i found unbearable, no matter how short i would keep my hair. I reached the conclusion, that i simply could not take it anymore.