01-10-2015, 05:43 PM
User Info
As a beginner I have been told to start with a 5/8. Is shaving with bigger razors more difficult? How much of a difference is it really?

5 59
 01-10-2015, 05:58 PM
User Info
migs32: I have razors from 3/8th's to 8/8th's and while I wouldn't recommend razors on either end of the spectrum for the new shaver I think that a 5/8th's or 6/8th's are very good sizes to start out with.
I have a stash and goatee to carve around so a more nimble razor was helpful when I first started out.
Some new shavers prefer a round point blade as they can be somewhat more forgiving.

4 41
 01-10-2015, 06:14 PM
User Info
(01-10-2015, 05:43 PM)migs32 Wrote: As a beginner I have been told to start with a 5/8. Is shaving with bigger razors more difficult? How much of a difference is it really?

I started out using a 7/8 Ralf Aust and did not have any big problems, so I tend to stay from 6/8 to 8/8. But for someone just starting out I would not recommend anything bigger than a 7/8. Good luck on your new journey once you get the hang of it you will really enjoy it.

10 399
 01-10-2015, 07:33 PM
  • Hanzo
  • Oakland, California
User Info
Beginners should start with a 6/8 because its in the middle BETWEEN the small razor 4/8-5/8 and those bigger 7/8-8/8. Then after using you can best gauge if you want a smaller or larger razor.

15 541
 01-10-2015, 08:50 PM
  • jamesrobson5
  • Chubby Chaser... Big Brush is Best!
  • Sherwood Park AB Canada!
User Info
All good advice. I think that your grind is more important as a beginner. I have a full and a 1/4 hollow ground razors. I find that the full is less forgiving of bad technique. I think that it is because of the flex that you get in the blade. But after a while it doesn't matter what razor you use (as long as it is sharp enough) you should get good results.
For whatever you choose there are lots of great guys here that are willing to help you figure it out... as long as you don't mind a few cuts along the way.Wink