01-12-2015, 07:08 AM
User Info
I have been doing this DE thing for a couple of months now and have tried 2 blade brands and 2 razors. Seeing the differences between them has me really wanting one of everything now. I don't mean every razor ever made I mean one each of every major category. So if you had to break down the categories of gear into major types, does this sound about right?

For razors: standard 3 piece, TTO, adjustable, slant
For brushes: Horse, boar, badger, synthetic

If you have some specific budget gear to suggest, let me know. I dont want to spend much in case it just int for me. For instance, I started with a Remei 3 piece and VHD kit with brush, mug etc. That was enough to tell me I was in the DE shaver game for the long haul. And when I gave an EJ DE89 a shot, well I knew the AD thing was going to be a problem. So if there is a solid TTO, slant, or variable in the sub $15 range that isnt a pure piece of hot trash and you would actually shave with it on occasion, let me know. I think I am getting an Omega for my first boar and there is a Body Shop near me so that might be my try at a synth brush. Horse Hair, I have seen a couple of options and Badger...well damn, there are tons and I am not really sure but Whipped Dog looks nice.

0 17
 01-12-2015, 07:25 AM
User Info
For razors, you've forgotten open comb. If you can find a NEW for under $15 - certainly possible, I've seen them go for that for shaver grade - it's one of the better shavers.

You may also be able to find a basic Superspeed (TTO) for around that. It's a very nice shaver, though I think the NEW is better.

The only way you'd find an adjustable or slant for under $15 is if you got lucky at an antique store, estate sale, or the like.

On brushes, I really don't like horse hair and I've tried both all-horsehair and mixed. Too scritchy and I like scritchy brushes. You might consider a Semogue boar, there are lots of options and I love mine. I'd take that over a Whipped Dog knot.