01-26-2015, 09:30 PM
User Info
Hello guys,
Ok I am new to wet shaving.. 3 months now. I read this earlier and could not find the thread again but maybe someone can enlighten me. I try every shave to get a BBS shave. I use good equipment and good cream, I follow all the recommended steps and try to have a good technique( it's all trial and error though) that being said I have sensitive skin and out of my four day work week on day 3-4 I get irritation on my neck and below the jaw.... I read that every shave should not be a BBS shave.... ( confused) can you all offer some thoughts??

Red

20 1,352
 01-26-2015, 09:51 PM
User Info
In my view, the #1 criteria is comfort, the #2 criteria criteria is the admittedly terrific feeling of BBS. I strive for #1, #2 happens  once in awhile but not every day (although I, like you, strive for it).  My rationale is that if shaving is not comfortable, a guy will drop it. That would be unfortunate and counterproductive. just one man's opinion.

16 350
 01-26-2015, 09:53 PM
User Info
I get a BBS every day, but technique has to be perfect and I don't strive for it, it happens as a byproduct of technique.

We need more info on exactly how you're shaving, # of passes etc.

Have you found "your blade" by getting a blade sampler? What gear are you using? We need info.

How is your lather? Using no pressure on the razor? However much pressure your using, use half, then do that again, and again. The maybe you'll have no pressure.

There's so much that can cause this, but we really have nothing to work with other than your desire to not have it happen. I agree, it shouldn't happen.

I'm not trying to be a wise a$$, but we really need data.

32 6,460
 01-26-2015, 10:08 PM
User Info
Your right that was vague....

Two passes, first wtg, second above the jaw cross grain, BBS, below the jaw against the grain, typically I get the best result and it leaves the skin alone enough not to get too irritated.