06-06-2012, 10:48 AM
  • Striky
  • Reipå, Norway
User Info
I am not good with ingredients, and what they do for the shavingproducts. So I have two questions:

SLE/SLS:
Ive read about SLE/SLS as a ingredient in soaps, creams etc. What is it, and why is it bad?

Palmoil:
Palmoil is often used in shaving products. It's been alot in the media (at least in Norway), that palmoil is not a good product in food, as it's unfavorable properties. But is it bad for you when used on the skin?

7 858
 06-06-2012, 11:16 AM
  • Songwind
  • Soap Slinger & Scuttle Pusher
  • Burnsville, MN
User Info
SLS is a foaming agent/detergent. In shaving creams it enhances the ability of the soap to make bubbles. I don't recall what its supposed negative effects are, but I do remember that there was not much evidence. A lot of the pages I found were all fear-mongering and false correlation (They use SLS in drain cleaners, therefore SLS = drain cleaner).

No idea about palm oil. I imagine whatever the problem is with ingesting it wouldn't transfer over to topical use.

10 1,858
 06-06-2012, 11:57 AM
  • EHV
  • Milford,PA
User Info
Some people seem to react well to palm oil, others not so much. Kind of like the lanolin scenario.
I agree that something applied topically, especially in a transient fashion like shave cream will not have similar implications as consuming it internally.

BTW, isn't that where Palmolive got it's name from? I adore the Palmolive cream and the stick!

ReConfusedLS/SLES If you search long enough, you'll find arguments both ways. Make your own judgements. Some companies like Proraso have removed this from their products and some haven't.
It is in widespread usage here in the States in shampoos, body washes, face washes, etc.