02-13-2015, 10:34 AM
User Info
I'm still pretty new to the many refinements of wet shaving, and compared to many of you, my brush collection is modest. I quickly took to face lathering, and I enjoy my scrubby Semogue 620 as well as the softness and quick-lathering delights of the L'Occitane Plisson. I have an EJ XL synth that I haven't quite decided on yet. But I do know I've very much enjoyed my first splurge brush purchase: a Shavemac 177 silvertip. I bought it as a first foray into fine badger brushes, and it hasn't disappointed.

But now I'm feeling the itch for another high-end badger. Softness is great, though I don't think I mind a little scritch. I do want to avoid floppiness; the Shavemac is satisfyingly dense enough not to just mop around, which is great. I'd also appreciate a bit of flow-through as opposed to lather hogging, though I can't say I really have a lot of experience with these qualities.

Based on various glowing reviews, I'm considering a Duke or Chubby from Simpsons, or a Thater (maybe the 4125).

Can anyone comment on how these might differ, and what would be a great next badger for this face lathering fool?

0 53
 02-13-2015, 10:48 AM
User Info
the duke is a great workhorse brush.  even in best it works great.  many people say it doesn't need super hair at all.  a thader is a wonderful soft caressing brush with very little scratch.  if you want to split the difference and face lather I would humble suggest a Manchurian hair brush.  there are all brands and prices now.  I enjoy the artisan romera ones.  another great brush is the new 2 band silvertip from shavemac great flow great brush.

73 1,297
 02-13-2015, 11:17 AM
  • Jovan
  • Banned
  • Traveling USA
User Info