02-25-2015, 02:19 PM
  • HarryO
  • FLA, USA.
User Info
I have been shaving for over 55 years. Since I have retired I shave only 2x per week.
About 8 mos ago I went from a Shick Hydro 5 to completely wet shaving.
I shave after my shower, use a heated cloth on my face for a few mins. I use Prorasso pre shave cream. Then I use one of my shaving soaps.
The razors I use primarily , Feather DS2. Nice razor but I cannot get a close shave. I currently average 4 passes. The last 2 passes are against the grain. Todays shave consisted the Feather and a new Derby Extra Razor blade. It felt as though the first 2 passes took only a min of whisker off.
After 2 passes against the grain I got a pretty close shave but also got 3 small nicks, not good. I finish off the shave with Tend Skin roll on. Been using this product for several years on and off with good results.

At the start of this journey I thought I had a rough beard. Now I don’t think so. I have a light colored beard and I am fair skin (sensitive skin). One time I used a Feather Blade and my face looked pretty bad. As well as the Kai blade same neg results.  Now I am thinking that my beard is light to med. My other razors are the Merkur long handle, Jagger 89lbl, and a Toro Mastiff  and a Muhler 89? which I think is too aggressive for me.
Any suggestions on what i am doing wrong, and possible other combinations I should try?
Thanks. HarryO

21 472
 02-25-2015, 02:29 PM
  • chazt
  • Bayside, NY
User Info
Hi Harry, you'll probably get a ton of good advice from senior members. These guys and gals are great sources of solid info.

My advice would be to try some different blades. I like Crystals, Personna Med Preps and Gillette Silver Blues. They're all different on my face, but I get fine shaves from all of them.

One of the expressions I've seen since being a member here is "don't chase the baby." I interpret that as, "let the shave find it's way to you."

Good luck. It'll work out for you. I'm sure of it.

7 2,357