03-01-2015, 11:20 PM
User Info
Hi Guys,

Let's try and keep this short and simple. I have been shaving for almost 3 years and my technique has gotten much better. I have found that my face prefers slants and open combs since my beard is more tough but skin is sensitive. A slant was my second razor so I have used them since I started. Here is the issue.

I now have too many slants that I acquired quickly without learning how to use them. If I want to really dial in each one, what would you suggest to do in order to properly give them time to shine and figure out if they will work for me if I use them properly? I am looking for advice on what I should do regarding blades, like whether I should use the same blade for each razor. How long should I use a razor until switching to a different slant. How can I test most efficiently what the optimum amount of growth each razor can tackle?

I will include these razor merely as a number of what I will have to rotate to. I am not looking for anything regarding any slant in specific. 

Razors in the rotation....Hoffritz Slant, Apollo Slant, Fasan Open Comb Slant, Merkur 39 Slant, RRSS Aluminum and RRSS Stainless Steel.

82 1,373
 03-02-2015, 01:10 AM
User Info
Hello!

I am certainly not the most qualified here, but here is my suggestion.

Your range of selection is a burden to learn one razor. So you must chose a razor and find a routine to step up learning. You may chose different items twice a week to satisfy curiousity and spike interest for the diffferences, but stay 5 of seven times with the same routine.

Kind regards!

Philipp

21 1,175
 03-02-2015, 05:47 AM
User Info
I would suggest 3 or 4 shaves as a minimum with each razor before you try the next one.  I would use the same blade in each one to start, something you find very smooth yet sharp (Gillette Silver Blues for me).

54 1,214
 03-02-2015, 10:26 PM
User Info