06-07-2012, 08:47 PM
User Info
I'm wondering if too much face preparation could make for a rough shave. Since I'm still relatively new to traditional shaving, I figured I'd put it up for discussion on the forum.

I ALWAYS seem to get rough shaves on the lower portion of my neck - I'm not sure if it's bad razor technique, the type of razor(s) I'm using, my lather wasn't built enough, or whatever...

Teiste and I were talking about this last night and he thinks I might be doing too much prior to putting metal to my face.

My usual preparation, when I don't shower before shaving, is to wash my face with soap, rinse it off thoroughly, rub my face down with a hot, damp towel for a few minutes, apply pre-shave oil, and then either face lather or prepare my lather in a bowl, then apply it to my face. Teiste suggested I just wet my face with water, apply the pre-shave oil, lather up, and go at it.

Do you think doing too much before shaving could be detrimental to the overall shave? what say you?

40 5,830
 06-07-2012, 08:52 PM
User Info
Great timing with this post Andrew. For my last 3 shaves I've been experimenting with a pre-shower shave routine. I usually always shower before I shave, but my last 3 shaves are convincing me that I should always shave before I shower. My shaves lately have been much more comfortable and my face/neck feel better than ever. All I'm doing for prep right now is to rinse my face with cool - cold water and then face lather my soap. Nothing else. I've been very pleased and I'm currently testing most of my soaps with this method while also using a DE, which typically doesn't give me as good of a shave as a SE does. These last 3 thought, have been simply splendid.

31 7,912
 06-07-2012, 08:57 PM
  • uncledave
  • Returned to DE Shaving After 40 years
  • Kentucky, USA
User Info
When you say "rough shaves" do you mean that you have razor burn on your neck or that you have lots of stubble or both?