03-16-2015, 03:00 PM
User Info
hi folks,

I know nothing about photography, so look at this as a recommendation for a complete newbie.

Right now I use my samsung s5 to take photos, and then the wife uses her samsung s4.  we have an older panasonic camera (I don't know the exact model as I'm at work right now - it's a 6 or 7mp camera) that we simply don't use...probably because we feel our phones are sufficient enough being that we don't know how to take advantage of any of the features for a standalone camera.

anyways, we're starting to travel more these days before we decide to have kids.  I'd like to have a quality camera for great photos when we travel, and for daily use to when the need arises.

what do you guys recommend?  my budget, I'm guessing, is probably around $1,000ish, with that possibly being flexible, if a deal is worth spending a little bit more.

do you have any site recommendations for newbies or books to read?  I'm going to see if our local community college offers and photography classes.

thanks!

40 5,830
 03-16-2015, 04:03 PM
  • freddy
  • Banned
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
Andrew, I'm in the market for a new, higher end, point and shoot camera.  The one I am looking at is $400.00 (the upcoming Panasonic Lumix DCM ZS50: www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2477859,00.asp).  Like you, I know almost nothing about cameras.  I am also waiting on this book to arrive: www.amazon.com/gp/product/1133597408/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.  I want to do a bit more than always have the camera on iA (Intelligent Automatic) and I'm hoping this introductory book will give me some pointers.