04-16-2015, 05:35 PM
User Info
Hello gentlemens!

Im fairly new to wet shaving. And I was wondering how you guys, ecolved with your razor. I would like to know, what razor did you used. Pretty sure the best way would be to start with a mild razor and move on to more agressive ones. What would be your choice of razors the progression?

For me, I started with a Edwin Jagger DE89, and recently tried the Maggard MR5 both pretty mild. I Also have a travel parker kit more agressive than the first two.

I would like to up grade, but Not sure where to ho from there. I would really appreciate, if you guys share your knowledge.

3 71
 04-16-2015, 05:44 PM
  • Deuce
  • Just a guy
  • Cave Creek
User Info
My first modern razor was a Parker. The real upgrades began when I started to buy some older Gillettes. My suggestion would be to try the Gillette Super Speed, Flare Tip , Red Tip, then an adjustable . These Gillettes are old but so very good. You can check out the BST here for one

19 729
 04-16-2015, 05:51 PM
  • bullgoose
  • The Enabler
  • Redondo Beach, California, U.S.A
User Info
The suggestion to try vintage is good but also try several different modern razors. I personally do not care for the Gillettte TTO razors or the Gillette adjustables but YMMV. For me personally, Merkur razors such as the 34C or Progress blow Gillette razors away in terms of shave quality but that is not to say that you will like them. You have to try for yourself.

46 18,091
 04-16-2015, 06:05 PM
User Info
For vintage, I'd start out with a Slim. They shave great, don't break the bank and can last a lifetime. If you want more aggressive them the 89, a Red Tip may work for you.

I'm not a fan of Merkur. I've had a few and the fit and finish are subpar and not even close to EJ.

You could always shim the EJ. I've never done it but people have had success with it.

8 2,718
 04-16-2015, 07:14 PM
  • Hanzo
  • Oakland, California
User Info