05-17-2015, 04:32 AM
  • GatorFL
  • Wellington, FL
User Info
Hi All,

I'm still a beginner so I thought I would ask here to see if any of you have an opinion on which Mongoose I should order.  I got my ordering information Friday which means I am confirmed and can place my order.  The Mongoose comes in a polished or a satin version.  The polished version takes a couple of weeks longer to fulfill because they outsource the polishing and then do additional quality checks.  It's also a few bucks more than the satin.  Mongoose seems to allude that the polishing is easily scratched and there is thread right on this very forum inquiring about polishing a scratch out of a Mongoose.  I'm inclined to order the satin.  My Feather AS-D2 is satin, shaves great and I'd guess that finish is more durable than a polished version.  I'm also guessing this is a purely cosmetic preference however I'd like to be sure before placing my order.

So to all you veterans, what are the pros and cons of each and do you have any recommendations for me?

Thanks! 

2 18
 05-17-2015, 04:38 AM
  • clint64
  • Atlanta, GA
User Info
I have the satin finish and like it.  It has proved to be very durable and easy to take care of.  I would add that the Mongoose satin finish is different than the satin finish of an Above the Tie razor.  Most other satin finishes seem to leave the grain in a natural unpolished state.  Not sure how it's done but the Mongoose satin does not show the grain of the metal.  Overall, I am glad I got the satin and would order it again. 

7 1,222
 05-17-2015, 05:06 AM
User Info
I love my satin Mongoose, afraid I would worry too much if I had the polished head.

53 1,199
 05-17-2015, 05:11 AM
  • ncguy1
  • TARHEEL
  • North Carolina
User Info
I've got the satin and polished Mongoose and can't tell any difference in terms of the quality of the shave but the polished one just looks purdy  Biggrin

18 260
 05-17-2015, 05:20 AM
  • Aleksey
  • Enabler
  • Istanbul, Turkiye
User Info