05-27-2015, 03:50 AM
User Info
Recently my eyes were bothering me; I had a hard time taking the normal bathroom light.
For part of my shave, I had my eyes closed and was doing it by feel.

It made me wonder how those with permanently impaired vision go about shaving.
I expect their dens must be very well organized.
If a brush were to be used, I imagine face-lathering with creams wouldn't be as big an obstacle.

8 896
 05-27-2015, 06:13 AM
User Info
They use injectors and face lather arko.

18 713
 05-27-2015, 07:02 AM
  • Johnny
  • MODERATOR EMERITUS
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
Well, I have some experience with this.  My neighbor across the street is blind and he shaves with a Norelco Electric Razor.

A group of men from our church volunteers to go to one of our local nursing homes to shave two different blind men every other day.  Bud always knows when I show up as he loves the Proraso and I am the only one who uses it.  My nursing home shave consist of a Schick Injector, Proraso Green Pre Shave Cream, Proraso Green Soap, and Proraso Green After Shave and Proraso After Shave Balm.  I use a Plisson Synthetic Brush for face lathering.

Most of the men from the church us different brands of electric razors.  One of our men is a retired barber and he brings a Marvy Mug, boar brush, Torrey Straight, and ARKO stick.  He generally uses Aqua Velva but sometimes brings an old bottle of Clubman.

It is a fun and very rewarding experience.

175 23,752
 05-27-2015, 09:14 AM
  • Snuff
  • Belgium
User Info
A friend of mine who used to teach people how to shave with a straight razor has had several blind people in his seminars and they where able to learn it.

28 1,433
 05-27-2015, 02:53 PM
User Info
I recall reading that the Gillette Guard was developed for men shaving in India, many of whom frequently shave without a mirror. That's tough for me to imagine, but I guess you get used to it.

0 1,053
 05-27-2015, 05:40 PM
User Info