06-07-2015, 07:55 PM
User Info
Greetings all. I'm a casual woodworker that's dabbling in bush making. I've made a few shave brushes for friends, and I might actually have one left over for myself!

I'm being told I should consider making a bunch for sale. But i wanted to run these past true shave connoisseurs and see what you all thought. I'm still not 100% secure in my skills, and still working on making a very durable finish. So please, be honest.

Thanks in advance.

[Image: p1235291260-4.jpg]

[Image: p1235291566-4.jpg]

[Image: p1235291590-4.jpg]

[Image: p1235292572-4.jpg]

[Image: p1235291226-4.jpg]

0 11
 06-07-2015, 08:05 PM
User Info
It's a tough market to crack in to, wood handles with unknown knots especially.

I'd say you are best off making one or two to sell and testing the waters.  You'd be surprised at what people are willing to pay for this stuff.  You make break even, you may loose a few bucks or they may not sell at all.  A lot of time, people value their own work much more then others are willing to pay. 

Many do it just for the fun of it and not to make any money.  Personally, they are not my style, but they look well crafted.

8 2,718
 06-07-2015, 08:18 PM
User Info
Personally I think they look really cool. Different handle designs than I normally see. They have a classy look ?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

82 2,178
 06-07-2015, 08:56 PM
User Info
Thank you - I appreciate your honesty. 

I like shave brushes with many different ways to grip them. And I make them big for men with big hands. Most of my friends are big guys  with giant hands - and I had them in mind when I made most of these. 

I'm not happy with that middle one in the first picture, I think that one is just going up on eBay for cheap - but the rest I'm proud of. I'm just not sure how well received they would be.