06-14-2015, 07:02 AM
User Info
I've at best gotten mediocre lather from Mystic Waters Bay Rum and was wondering if "blooming" the puck might help. I understand this involves putting some water on the puck and leaving it to soak for a while. I've never done this before and was wondering how much water and for how long. Feedback from other people who have used this technique would be appreciated.

1 142
 06-14-2015, 07:30 AM
User Info
(06-14-2015, 07:02 AM)gordon55 Wrote: I've at best gotten mediocre lather from Mystic Waters Bay Rum and was wondering if "blooming" the puck might help. I understand this involves putting some water on the puck and leaving it to soak for a while. I've never done this before and was wondering how much water and for how long. Feedback from other people who have used this technique would be appreciated.

Gordon, this is a process that I always do with Mystic water soaps, even though it is already soft. Firstly, I "rough up" the surface by repeatedly pressing a thumb in to it. This makes it easier for the brush to pick up the soap. I then put a thin layer of warm water on the soap that just barely covers it. This, I leave for no more than a minute, and then tip away the water.

I have over a dozen of Michelle's soaps, including the Bay Rum, and can't honestly say I've noticed any difference between that and the others.

32 5,294
 06-14-2015, 07:34 AM
User Info
I'm not a fan of this, did it once and I wasn't impressed in how the soap performed after the process. I've seen people do it with Harris, Williams, PdP and other hard soaps too. MW is soft enough to begin with, I wouldn't mess around with soaking.

It changes the soap makers intentions and the actual performance. If they wanted more water in the puck, they would have added it and made it softer.