07-01-2015, 06:02 AM
User Info
I'm fairly new to straight razor shaving with just shy of 10 full shaves under my belt (I use a DE razor everyday for quotes some time now) and am looking at buying a bew razor. I'm looking at a Puma #90 and a Filarmonica DT 14. As a beginner which would be a better razor. What are the pros and cons of both? Which would be easier to strop and keep a sharp edge? Any and all advice is much appreciated.

79 824
 07-01-2015, 06:14 AM
  • geezer
  • Menomonie, Western WI
User Info
As to brand, any good quality 5/8ths to 6/8ths would be a a good choice. No Chinese or Pakistani blades, though. Get your razor, whatever you decide, professionally honed. Stropping is important and can keep a blade going for a long time. The are a lot of videos on line look for those with a known person doing the demo, Lynn or Glen or some others that are not new to the sport!
Take the shaving one shave at a time and learn your face and how the blade and angle affects it.
Beard prep is 90% of a good close shave!
~Richard

8 1,194
 07-01-2015, 06:38 AM
  • Johnny
  • MODERATOR EMERITUS
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
Well, I am going to make a sales pitch here.  If I were just starting out I would choose one of the razors I have for sale right now.  Both round point, both shave ready.  One 5/8 and one 11/16.  Heck, I can probably sell you both of mine for what you would pay for either one of the above.

175 23,752
 07-01-2015, 06:42 AM
  • geezer
  • Menomonie, Western WI
User Info
Good on you Johnny! You have some nice ones!
~Richard

8 1,194
 07-01-2015, 06:59 AM
User Info