07-31-2015, 01:40 PM
User Info
OK, I've been shaving with (or trying to shave with) a DE for about four months. I've been having fun buying and selling DE razors on EBay. But I am not doing very well in shaving with them. Whether it's the Gillette Tech or the Super Speed or the Gillette 1-9 Adjustable, I keep getting little "bleeders", especially on my neck. Yesterday I brought out the Harry's razor I bought last year, and it gave me such a clean, smooth shave. So I ask myself, why am I still trying to shave with a DE. Maybe technology has indeed moved ahead and left the DE in the dust.
I especially like the Gillette adjustable I got on Ebay earlier in the week since it was made in the 2nd quarter of 1965, the time when I graduated from college and proposed to my wife. I have it set on "3"...but still again this morning I got several "bleeders" under my chin. I'm not putting any pressure on the razor.
Can anybody give me any help?

0 16
 07-31-2015, 01:53 PM
User Info
It's fine that you don't like DEs. Go back to cartridges if that is what you like. 

Personna makes a twin cartridge that costs $15 for a 100 pack in bulk. I prefer that to all but one DE- the Feather Popular.

Mostly I use Single Edge GEMs and injectors though. So don't sweat it. DEs are not for everyone.

18 713
 07-31-2015, 01:54 PM
User Info
Learning to use a DE certainly takes a little time.  I think it took me about 6 months before everything really clicked.  My lathers started to be consistently good, I had figured out which blades fit my face, and I had found a few razors that seemed to work really well for me.

Not knowing any of your specifics, I have a few thoughts.
-Are you lathering up soaps or creams with a brush?  If so, try going back to canned stuff for a while just to take the lathering out of the variables for a while.  It took me longer to get good, consistent lather than it did to learn DE technique.