09-03-2015, 12:23 PM
User Info
Ok, so long story short - I've been double edge shaving for about 10 months now, and have figured out "my shave" and have gotten really comfortable with it.

I'm finally thinking about trying a straight razor - but I'm so overwhelmed with options.

Can you guys help me narrow it down a bit?

I think I want a non-folding Japanese style (I'm not sure what the name is for this) straight razor.
I want to keep it under $100, but I don't want to buy crap that I'll regret.
I don't mind used - and I'm a casual woodworker, so making scales/replacing scales doesn't scare me at all.
I don't mind learning to sharpen - in fact, it's an art I've been meaning to perfect since as I said I'm a casual woodworker and I should really hone my skills (pun intended)

Any suggestions for me within this framework above? I'd love to spend more, but even $100 is a lot for me at this time. That said, I do custom make shave brushes so I might even consider a trade. First though, I need to narrow down my options. I just have no idea what to get!

0 11
 09-03-2015, 02:22 PM
  • Entasis
  • Atop the Razor's Edge
  • Southern California
User Info
I made the mistake of not listening to Obie (a prominent member here) whom told me sage advice and I proceeded the opposite direction. He offered me, at a very reasonable price, a couple of starter straight razors (that could have been resold for the same price). Instead, I chose to purchase an expensive Feather DX so I could make use of existing SE Feather blades that I owned. I recommend against doing as I did as learning straight razor shaving entails actually shaving with real straight razors. I hope Obie chimes in here. I also recommend starting with a folding razor as the scales do aid in establishing proper angles.

Welcome to the world of straight razors...you'll never look back and what you will learn will make shaving with any razor far better than before. Also, prepare to open your wallet when you get hooked. Wink