09-29-2015, 01:55 PM
User Info
I was able to purchase a small shave den with a few Safety razors and (1) Straight razor that I was going to use...well after may hours of googling all the information that I came up with is that it is a Wade & Butcher with a VR stamp that would indicate the reign of Queen Victoria, which ran from 1837 to 1901. I have had it honed, but the craftsman could not provide any information for me, the only thing I know is that this is a wedge profile with a butcher notch, and when I strop It feels very heavy, the scales are plastic with a rattlesnake pattern.
I contemplating restoring it, but would like to know if its worth it. and by worth it I refer to the blacking or imperfections on the blade that it has. When I got it back after honing they were not there so I wondering if this is normal or if I am responsible for it. I am new to Straights so information would be valuable for me at this point.

I am looking for more information on the blade itself - Am I wrong with the year?

How to store it - I have read to put oil on it 

What a restoration does for Straight razor - is it just plating? 

[img=1211x908]http://i.imgur.com/v7FZRcw.jpg[/img][img=1207x905]http://i.imgur.com/YR4sr2S.jpg[/img][img=1209x906]http://i.imgur.com/llO5tlI.jpg[/img]

25 470
 09-29-2015, 02:47 PM
  • jtmke
  • Ex shaving hater
  • milwaukee
User Info
Straights are not played. Generally restoring is cleaning, polishing, new scales if needed and honing. It will look as close to new as possible. 

Keep the razor dry and if you are not using it you may want to oil the pivot and razor. Scales of natural material can be kept nice with Renn wax

7 445
 09-29-2015, 03:20 PM
User Info
Thank you for the advice, is there an oil out there I should be using like baby oil or WD40?

25 470
 09-29-2015, 03:39 PM
  • jtmke
  • Ex shaving hater
  • milwaukee
User Info
Mineral oil, tuff glide, rem oil. Those would be my choices for long term protection.

7 445
 09-29-2015, 09:52 PM