09-29-2015, 07:17 PM
User Info
Feather was a great shaver until I moved on from EJ89 to more aggressive razors. I opted for smoother, less aggressive blades like nacet, GSb, etc.

I revisited a feather blade for the first time in 6 months today.
I put it in my trusty stealth slant V1, which I deem to be the smoothest shaver out of all razors I have (close second would be DLC weber)

Did a complete 3 pass with it.

WTG - no problem cut really well
XTG - no problem here as well
ATG - cut really well, felt around my face, did a clean up pass where a little rough.

After cold water rinse, my neck has 4~5 weepers.
I have not gotten this many weepers in a very long time. If I do, I usually get one or two, but not this many.
Strangely, the shave didn't feel harsh or irritating at all. It's just that I got a lot of weepers and I was surprised to see blood running down my neck like I am a newbie all over again.

I guess this is an official good bye to feather blades for me.

53 760
 09-29-2015, 07:37 PM
User Info
The best shave with a feather is the second. I used to love feathers, matter of fact OP we traded 100 feather for polsilvers awhile back.

I've been using nothing but Russian blades since about a month before we traded. Well I loaded up a feather the other day and the same thing happened to me,and they are a lot rougher than I remember too. 

I'll be honest though I couldn't tell the feathers were all that sharper then my go tos which now are polsilvers, gillette blacks,GSBs and the occasional permasharp.

Crazy a year ago I would of said feathers were the best blades hands down and whoever disagreed with me was a fool who didn't know how to shave, again I'm being honest.

Now I think they are overated. Good blades ,just there are blades that cut my hair just as good and are a lot smoother. Bad thing is I have about 400 or 450 feathers now.

3 1,356
 09-29-2015, 07:45 PM
User Info