10-08-2015, 01:09 PM
User Info
So I've been testing creams and soaps for some time now. Originally I started with Edwin Jagger, then eventually moved up to Geo F. Trumper's, and recently have gotten a tub of Tabula Rasa which I am absolutely loving. I've also been trying a few samples over the past few weeks. The theme here seems to be that the pricier stuff seems to work better for me in that I get significantly more comfortable shaves with a better post-shave feel. I'm not trying to start an argument over price and the warrants of expensive vs. inexpensive products, so I figured that I'd phrase my question this way:

What are the very best soaps/creams that you have tried? Consider money no object.

I haven't tried many soaps and creams since I'm fairly new to wet shaving (started 3 years ago), but the very best that I have tried are Castle Forbes and Tabula Rasa. With Castle Forbes, I get a wonderfully moisturized post-shave, and with Tabula Rasa, I get a perfectly close and comfortable shave with a thick and creamy lather.

I've heard great things about three products in particular: Acqua di Parma (current formulation), Martin de Candre, and Santa Maria Novella (current formulation). I'm seriously considering skipping the middle price range (Trumper's and the like) and going for a rotation that will consist of these three plus Tabula Rasa and possibly Castle Forbes.

Your thoughts?

3 1,484
 10-08-2015, 01:27 PM
  • kav
  • Banned
  • east of the sun,west of the moon
User Info
Money is the LAST indicator of either performance or user rational in shaving. Many of us returned to wetshaving to ahem 'save money'.
We have members who hunt old pucks of Williams tallow soap with the determination of feather merchants dodging cannibals circa 1900.