01-08-2016, 03:02 PM
User Info
Ok im pretty new to DE shaving, i shave daily so my head stays pretty smooth. I shave against the grain from the start and it usually only takes 2 passes to get bbs, little to no irritation ad rarley get a nick. I shave in the shower and my question is how do you lather? Ive been using soap, brush, and mug. I can work up a great lather in my hand but have more trouble getting a good lather on my head. I have found that a bigger brush works a little better but any suggestions or tips are greatly appreciated.

8 99
 01-08-2016, 04:15 PM
  • ajc347
  • Exeter, UK
User Info
My routine is to shave my head outside of the shower and then shower afterwards  - it's an awful lot easier and far less messier that way. 

I always bowl lather with larger brushes when head shaving and find that gives me more than enough lather for two passes.

33 659
 01-08-2016, 07:53 PM
  • e-dub
  • right brain: bna. left brain: dtw.
User Info
i shower first then shave (outside of it). i, too, go against the grain straight away but am able to get the result i want in one pass.

41 666
 01-08-2016, 07:56 PM
  • Wrathen
  • Gulf Breeze, FL
User Info
I have been shaving my head for 15'ish years. Only the last 3 wet shaving. I generally snag a shower while brush and soap are warming up then I load the brush and build the lather on my head. I use a 28mm brush and that seems to work out best.

Check out e-dub's YouTube videos he is a headshaver and similar process to me and great all around guy too

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

16 785
 01-08-2016, 08:35 PM
User Info
Rhe times I have shaved my head I've done so either before or after the shower. Just made things easier.

147 3,536
 01-08-2016, 09:03 PM
User Info
(01-08-2016, 04:15 PM)ajc347 Wrote: My routine is to shave my head outside of the shower and then shower afterwards  - it's an awful lot easier and far less messier that way.