01-10-2016, 12:15 PM
User Info
Hi Everyone,

I have used three DE blades, Merkur, Featherlite, and Persona.  Persona is my favorite because it is sharp but forgiving.  Merkur seems dull to me and feather blades always leave me bloody.  Do you just have to try enough blades to get the one that fits your face? Are there brands that generally seem superior to others? 

Thanks.

0 134
 01-10-2016, 12:20 PM
User Info
I am relatively new to wet shaving.

0 134
 01-10-2016, 12:53 PM
  • jtmke
  • Ex shaving hater
  • milwaukee
User Info
For me YMMV 

I am a straight razor shaver struggling to become proficient with a DE. Not only  have I had issues with certain brands, different razors will not work for me with favorites. I like Astras in my fatboy and EJ89. I don't think I like them in my ATT. I think you have to find what works for you. YMMV as they say.

7 438
 01-10-2016, 01:28 PM
User Info
I had to try a lot of different blades before I found a set up that worked for me. Like you feathers are way too sharp for me as well. A member turned me on to Poli-Silvers and those have been my go to blade for some time now.I have been very happy with them, but still from time to time put in a different blade just to try it out. 

To me thats one of the many fun things about wetshaving...the variety and scalability you have.

24 470
 01-10-2016, 04:03 PM
User Info
(01-10-2016, 12:15 PM)asiliski Wrote: Hi Everyone,

I have used three DE blades, Merkur, Featherlite, and Persona.  Persona is my favorite because it is sharp but forgiving.  Merkur seems dull to me and feather blades always leave me bloody.  Do you just have to try enough blades to get the one that fits your face? Are there brands that generally seem superior to others? 

Thanks.
There are a zillion different blades out there, and everyone seems to have an opinion of what is best for them.  Those opinions vary QUITE A BIT.

So you probably just need to try a whole bunch of blades.