01-27-2016, 06:56 PM
  • sch1989
  • Mesa arizona
User Info
[Image: HcPFw0Q.jpg]I just received my first straight a vintage CMON razor looks like it has never even been used before. I need to get it up to speed and shave ready I have never used a straight before. 

First thing is I was looking for advice on where or whom to send it to get it shave ready

Also I don't have a strop was looking at SRD and they have so many options I don't know what to look for, any suggestions?

Thanks!

Here's a photo of the razor.

23 598
 01-27-2016, 09:23 PM
  • evnpar
  • Emeritus
  • Portland, Oregon
User Info
That's a very nice razor. I would recommend the 3" Premium IV English Bridle strop. A 3" strop is far easier to use, asit will accommodate the length of most razor blades. Actually, any of the SRD 3" strops will perform just as well, only you won't know your personal preference until you've used one for awhile. Practice stropping on it with a butter knife for awhile, as it's easy to knick up a strop until you learn proper technique. You could also send your razor to Lynn Abrams at SRD for honing, and you should be reviewing his You Tube videos on stropping and how to shave with a straight. Several of our members also would hone if for you, including Doc226 or Obie. You should try to find a mentor in your area to help teach you proper shaving, stropping, and eventually honing techniques. I hope you enjoy straight razor shaving.

38 5,030
 01-28-2016, 03:10 AM
  • jtmke
  • Ex shaving hater
  • milwaukee
User Info
The superior shave was honing for free at one point. Edges are very good. As for a strop. SRD strips are nice with replaceable parts if you nick it. Cheaper nice strops can be had but be careful to not go cheap on the strip or that's what you get.

7 438
 01-28-2016, 03:47 AM
User Info
I know I am still very new and have not established myself on the Nook yet but I will gladly hone it for free, just cover the shipping. PM if interested