02-21-2016, 01:41 PM
  • Shanman
  • Reserve Collection Squirrel Hair
  • NE Florida
User Info
My wife recently discovered that we had amassed quite the pile of reward points from our credit union of many years, and I ended up cashing them in for over a grand worth of Best Buy cards. This got me itching for a new TV. Our 2011 Samung led has and still is a good TV, but is not giving me the cinema experience I wish for in our newer home that has a huge open family room. I'm leaning towards a 4k 65" in either Samsung, LG, or Sony. Best Buy just posted a sale showing a really Nice Samsung 65" for $2k- the UN65JS8500...

All my last few months of research has me hungry to pull the trigger on a 4k set on sale, but new this year is LG 3.0 software, and likely much cheaper OLED sets due in April which are ao far stunning. Samsung is notorious for upgrading Smarthub which can leave other sets obsolete to a point(like my 2011), and Sony Bravias are running Android which I have no experience with other than my phone.

Anyone have some insights? Projectors are an interesting option. Side lit? Full array? Does 4K technology make higher refresh rates(240hz) unnecessary? I cut the cable cord a while back and now stream with Apple TV, Amazon Prime, HBO Now, etc. Any insights from the video nuts here lurking under the guise of wet shavers?

143 1,984
 02-21-2016, 02:02 PM
User Info
We had a 4K but wound up returning it. I enjoyed it but the wife couldn't watch it. Gave her a headache. You can soften the picture in settings which helps. There is a lot of issues with companies not being 4k compatible with shows and movies but regardless it improved picture quality of what ever we watched. Did take a touch for me to get used to. Made all movies and shows feel like a soap opera. Almost like live viewing. Hard to explain. Makes Blu Ray look phenomenal! Unless your into hardcore,  fast paced gaming you shouldn't need anything over 120hz refresh rate and even then I never had issues.