02-26-2016, 03:26 PM
  • jb2016
  • Los Angeles
User Info
Hey guys,

Just to give you some background, I have been shaving with DE razors now for the last 7 years. I started with the Progress Long Handle, and within the last 6 months I've also purchased an R41 2013 model and a 34C HD. My, what a difference it has made! I'm really loving the R41. Anyhow, over the last year or two, I've considered dabbling into the straight razor shave territory, but I don't trust myself enough yet to go all in (plus it would add way more time to my routine). I haven't committed yet to the shavette idea simply because I get a mixed bag impression overall.

What I do know is that I like the look of the Dovo Shavettes (the black and blue handle especially) - it's lightweight, somewhat rounded, and has both an aluminum and plastic construction which appeals to me for better grip (I guess). I'm trying to avoid any straight razor/shavette handles that are designed to be "super flat" and made out of metal because I know I may forget to reach for that alum block or towel at some point.

What do you guys think? How is the Dovo Shavette as far as performance goes? Would I be able to get shaves that are just as good or even better than the R41? What's the best shavette out there in the market?

Really appreciate the advice. 

Thanks!
Jack

P.S. If there's a post or a thread somewhere which could help me find some answers, I would love to see them!

0 25
 02-26-2016, 05:27 PM
User Info
I don't use a straight razor or a shavette. 

I've heard that a shavette is more difficult to use that a straight razor. 

And I've heard that a straight razor isn't that easy. 

The DE razors that you have sounds good to me.

Give ear also to other members who have more experience than I.

1 401
 02-26-2016, 05:54 PM
  • jb2016
  • Los Angeles
User Info
@duck creek - will do, definitely!