02-28-2016, 05:39 AM
User Info
Every now and then, I start thinking about buying a Feather AC SS Kamisori. I'm not sure why... it just seems to call to me.

A little background. I've been shaving with a DE for around 5 years. Having just hit 60, my skin is starting the inevitable slackening stage. My neck is quite sensitive, especially the lower third (and my beard is pretty wiry... how many times have we read that combination on this forum?). I have settled into a mild razor/sharp blade routine that works well for me. My daily driver is a Feather AS-D2 with any of a Feather, Polsilver, Permasharp Super, or Nacet blades (with a heavier handle and a shim to increase the efficiency a little). Weepers are pretty much a thing of the past. I have a Wolfman SB on order.

Having read a lot and viewed a lot of video, it seems that most people use both hands for straight and shavette shaving. I am extremely right handed, and wouldn't trust my left hand with anything remotely sharp (maybe a butter knife). I realize that many people have trained their "weak" hand, but I'm really not willing to go through the facial damage and blood letting that would be needed (I've tried with my DE, and it wasn't pretty... the local blood bank was the only happy one in that experience), so I would prefer that you focus your advice on this question. Is it possible (or how difficult would it be) to shave with only my right hand with a Feather AC SS Kamisori? I can imagine that going XTG on the left side of my face might be a challenge.

Thanks in advance for your help.

10 96
 02-28-2016, 05:46 AM
  • ben74
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
I shave with my right hand regardless of razor, including folding straights, kamisori and all Feather AC razors (both folding and non folding). The only difficulty (if you'd call it that) is some reduced vision when crossing over to the other side of the face.

99 18,011
 02-28-2016, 05:55 AM
  • eengler
  • Administrator
  • South Dakota, USA
User Info