03-08-2016, 12:57 PM
User Info
I'm pretty new to soaps and creams of any kind, and still don't use them that often (water+razor/blade suffice), but I do enjoy the slickness, cushioning, skin benefits, and scents of a good soap. 

And, I'd thought to post here to get some experienced technique advice on lathering. To preface, I 100% bowl lather for now (not yet interested in face lathering), with a Plisson synthetic. I have no problems whipping up a large amount of lather with any soap I've tried, but I do run into a general problem I'd like to correct.

I seem to get much more tiny air bubbles in my lather than I like. I try to gently swirl them away in the bowl, and this seems to help a little, but not nearly enough compared to the ultra smooth cream like consistency of most lather shots I see. I'd really like my lather creamier, but I don't see how. More or less water doesn't seem to help. I do splay the brush pretty heavily in the bowl while lathering, but this is what also seems to build lather most efficiently.

So, what can I do to improve my lather, technique wise? Or, are there certain soaps that resist air better?

Soaps I currently have:

AdP (new formula)
MdC
SV 70th
WSP
PC Nuavia Rossa 
Castle Forbes
Mystic Water

SdM (on order)
Sweet Comb Chicago (on order)

Best soaps for reducing air? Best technique for reducing air? Any and all advice appreciated.

2 308
 03-08-2016, 01:24 PM
User Info
How long do you load your brush? Your soaps are top notch, wondering if you are using enough though.

55 923
 03-08-2016, 01:27 PM
User Info
My general advice is this:  swirl gently and calmly.  

I see a lot of guys that whip the brush like they're trying to whip cream or make eggs frothy for a light omelet.  That's not a good way to make lather.