04-06-2016, 09:17 AM
User Info
So I ordered a few things from West Coast Shaving and since I ordered over a certain amount they gave me a Omega Boar Brush.  Now I have never used a boar brush before and it is a lot stiffer than my synthetic obviously, but is there anything I need to do before using it?  Do I need to soak it to soften it up and a way to break it in?

8 147
 04-06-2016, 09:39 AM
  • EricM
  • Encinitas, CA
User Info
I let mine soak in a cup of dish suds for 15 minutes, rinsed it out with water, and hand lathered with soap.  Once it was nice and coated I let it sit overnight, and then just started using it.  It's broken in nicely.  Boar brushes get better over time as the ends split and soften up, but you still get that great backbone.

Eric

49 991
 04-06-2016, 10:21 AM
User Info
Boar brushes need break-in time, as opposed to badger brushes (which is really about loosening up the knot).  Boar brushes reach their peak after many uses when the ends of the bristles have split.  There is really no substitute other than use to get to that point.  However, most boar brushes also tend to be really funky-smelling (I believe it is the chemicals used to sterilize the knot, if I'm not mistaken), so for the owner's sake it benefits from some way to ameliorate that effect.  I've tried a number of methods and they all tend to work out, whether it be "lathering" with shampoo, dish soap, or creams/soaps and leaving it overnight or so.  I've also never done anything and after 2-3 days the funk is pretty much gone.

84 1,505
 04-06-2016, 10:25 AM
User Info
I like to give boars at least 5 wet/dry cycles (palm or bowl lathering, and 48 hours in between cycles) before I put it on my face. The reasons for that are: cleaning and defunking, bristle softening, get the break-in process started. For the first cycle I like to use hot water (170 degrees). Painter strokes on a towel while drying your brush will also help with the splitting process.