04-07-2016, 06:47 AM
User Info
Hi all!
I am a complete newbie of wet shaving and I approached this world just few weeks ago, looking for gear and techniques that will allow me to shave daily without incurring in the irritation and poor shaving quality that I was obtaining with cartridge razors and electric razor.
I realized that I probably started a bit on the hard way, since I got myself a GEM 1912 and some CVS blades, but I decided to accept the challenge and after the first bloody shave, and thanks to a lot of useful info found on this forum I am now able to shave daily, with an acceptable quality (still plenty of room for improvement, I am just getting to know my own face), and almost without any irritation/nicks. I am currently waiting for my 1st DE to arrive (EJ89) and see how DE shaving feels in comparison.

This looong introduction just to justify you the object of my post: being new to this world I did not want to start with too many variables, so I decided not to buy brush and soap for now and I started off with the gillette fusion gel I had in my cabinet. As soon as this finished I was still confuse by all the differences between soaps, creams, and brushes, but I found an interesting product on the shelf of my superstore (Kroger): the Van Der Hagen Save Butter.
[Image: 61xd2DxC6oL._SY355_.jpg]

I did not find any other post in this forum regarding it, so I was wondering if any of you has tried a similar product before. 
It is on the expensive side (about $6.50 for 170mL), but the quantity required is not much. Also, I am sure this sounds like a blasphemy to many of you, but they claim you can avoid to rinse it off and just massage what's left after the shave on your skin and it will act as aftershave.