04-21-2016, 10:16 AM
User Info
Hello from Idaho. I'm a college professor who loves the fact that I'm in a place where I am the student! I'm looking forward to learning about DE shaving from folks who know what's what. I've been using a brush for some time, mainly due to the propellants in most shave creams. Then I discovered that it just works better. I suppose what pushed me over the edge was something in 'The Apprentice'. Just the line, something to the effect, "Shave everyday." I realized I wasn't because the cartridges were a great excuse not to. So I started lurking about here and on some other sites and about a week ago I took the plunge and bought a double edge (ok- 3- I'm a scientist and realized right away that to experiment on blades I had to have more control- thanks to you guys and others I started with Astra SPs and I'm not sure why I'd want to experiment now. . . ) Everything is going well- spectacularly better than I expected since I tend sometimes to plunge in and stop when there is weeping and gnashing of teeth! (I think they call it overconfidence). Dodgy  Anyway, I look forward to learning a lot and will try to contribute some as I find I have anything to say. Thanks for having me and for having a great place to learn. Cool

0 8
 04-21-2016, 10:22 AM
  • kav
  • Banned
  • east of the sun,west of the moon
User Info
Welcome- and we are all on a constant learning curve. Many come to save money and some for environemeddler concerns. The first is a lost cause and the second problematical but with many options. You will benefit from unthought of intangibles; friendships, illumination in dark and lost arts and time spent online safe from homicidal soccer moms in SUVs.

2 3,171
 04-21-2016, 10:25 AM
User Info
Welcome. Hello

83 21,077
 04-21-2016, 10:25 AM
  • EricM
  • Encinitas, CA
User Info
Welcome!  Once you take the plunge there is no going back!!   Biggrin

Eric

48 976
 04-21-2016, 10:26 AM
  • Johnny
  • MODERATOR EMERITUS