07-27-2012, 06:17 AM
User Info
Although I've been using a brush and shaving cream from T&H for about 3 years, the real journey didn't begin until February of this year nearly 6 months ago. Specifically, it happened because my brother and I have slowly been getting stuff out of our mother's house a little bit at a time. She gets stressed and upset when too much leaves at once, so we go over for dinner with the grandkids, admire something, she asks if we want it and then we take it. We have to promise not to throw it away and so we end up giving most of the stuff away to friends, co-workers or the salvation army. A few have gone up on eBay.

In February, however, I was staying over and saw an old Gillette razor (turned out to be the travel tech) and a few containers of Wilkinson blades. What the heck, I thought, I'll give it a try. With no guidance, no previous research or study, I went at it. Don't recall how well that shave went, but it changed everything. From that moment since, I've not used a disposable razor with the exception of one night in MN when I couldn't check my bags and had to take a Bic. All other shaves have been DE.

My wife and I live well below our income and so we have some disposable income for other things. What that meant is that by May 5, my shave den looked like this:

The top middle shelf are empty boxes and you can see the number of samples on the bottom shelf. One of the things I discovered is that the sample sizes were insufficient for telling me anything meaningful about shaving soaps and creams. Those samples ended up being included in a sale of Razors I'd eliminated from my rotation.

The razors hanging from the wood bar at the top were my regularly used razors. Interestingly, none of them are in my rotation now and several have been sold.

As of last week, here is the current state of my shave den: