06-16-2016, 12:36 PM
#1
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
How do I input my location so that it shows under my avatar?

0 363
Reply
 06-16-2016, 01:03 PM
#2
User Info
Click on your username, then user settings,  then click your profile

24 6,004
Reply
 06-16-2016, 04:23 PM
#3
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
I've tried that, Claus. The page that is forthcoming let's me set up many things, but location is not among them.

0 363
Reply
 06-16-2016, 04:26 PM
#4
  • evnpar
  • Emeritus
  • Portland, Oregon
User Info
Click on your usernam, then Edit, then look for the location box.

38 5,155
Reply
 06-17-2016, 02:40 AM
#5
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
No joy on that either, Richard. Doing that returns the same page allowing me to change many profile options, but no location box is there.

Using a Mac with Safari browser. Wonder if that's the reason

0 363
Reply
 06-17-2016, 02:43 AM
#6
User Info
I use Mac Safari too - no problems seeing the location. Perhaps ask the web designer here - don't know who he is.

24 6,004
Reply
 06-17-2016, 03:38 AM
#7
  • leefish
  • Pisciform Cavalry
  • The Netherlands
User Info
Hi Beamon,

Location is a field that becomes available based on your number of posts. Keep posting and you will see the option appear Smile

0 822
Reply
 06-17-2016, 04:01 AM
#8
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
Ok, Lee, good idea. I know that the ability to post a signature didn't become available until I had 10 posts, so maybe the location box is some more posts down the road.

0 363
Reply
 06-19-2016, 05:58 AM
#9
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-17-2016, 04:01 AM)beamon Wrote: Ok, Lee, good idea. I know that the ability to post a signature didn't become available until I had 10 posts, so maybe the location box is some more posts down the road.
I'm now at 21 posts and still can't find the "Location Box" where I'm told that it should appear. How many posts will it require?

I can sort of understand why I had to wait until 10 posts before I could have a signature line, but why the wait for "location"? We're told that the board likes to have our locations showing.

Yesterday, I ran into a chap (can't remember his name) that had only 9 posts, yet his location was under his avatar. What am I doing wrong?

0 363
Reply
 06-20-2016, 06:10 AM
#10
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-19-2016, 05:58 AM)beamon Wrote:
(06-17-2016, 04:01 AM)beamon Wrote: Ok, Lee, good idea. I know that the ability to post a signature didn't become available until I had 10 posts, so maybe the location box is some more posts down the road.
I'm now at 21 posts and still can't find the "Location Box" where I'm told that it should appear. How many posts will it require?

I can sort of understand why I had to wait until 10 posts before I could have a signature line, but why the wait for "location"? We're told that the board likes to have our locations showing.

Yesterday, I ran into a chap (can't remember his name) that had only 9 posts, yet his location was under his avatar. What am I doing wrong?
Can anyone address my questions/comments above? Lee, maybe? Do we know what the posting requirements are re: "Location" appearing under my avatar and why did I find someone with only 9 posts, yet with "Location" appearing under his avatar. Why is it different for him? Certainly not a huge deal, but the software should work the same for everyone, not?

0 363
Reply
 06-20-2016, 09:40 PM
#11
  • leefish
  • Pisciform Cavalry
  • The Netherlands
User Info
Hi, I found the problem. The right to have location is based on user group. I cannot say why this other chap has a location etc without knowing who it is.

The setting for promotion to the next group is based on join date and posts. You joined 16 June this year?

0 822
Reply
 06-20-2016, 09:50 PM
#12
  • ben74
  • Senior Member
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
(06-16-2016, 12:36 PM)beamon Wrote: How do I input my location so that it shows under my avatar?

(06-19-2016, 05:58 AM)beamon Wrote: Can anyone address my questions/comments above? Lee, maybe? Do we know what the posting requirements are re: "Location" appearing under my avatar and why did I find someone with only 9 posts, yet with "Location" appearing under his avatar. Why is it different for him? Certainly not a huge deal, but the software should work the same for everyone, not?

Roger, unfortunately I don't have an answer to your question, but I do have a solution.

Tell me your location details and I'll add it for you.

Right now I've updated you to "Earth", but I'm sure you'd like to be more specific....  Tongue

99 18,011
Reply
 06-21-2016, 02:40 AM
#13
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-20-2016, 09:40 PM)leefish Wrote: Hi, I found the problem. The right to have location is based on user group. I cannot say why this other chap has a location etc without knowing who it is.

The setting for promotion to the next group is based on join date and posts. You joined 16 June this year?
My profile says I joined 15 June, so does that mean that on or about 15 July the "Location" Box should show up for me? If so, I'll wait for it to appear. Please advise.

If I run across that other fellow with the 9 posts, yet has the location showing, I'll PM you with his ID. 

PS. Just noticed that I now have a location of "Earth" showing, but still no "Location Box" with which to change it.

Thanks, Lee

0 363
Reply
 06-21-2016, 02:45 AM
#14
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-20-2016, 09:50 PM)ben74 Wrote: Roger, unfortunately I don't have an answer to your question, but I do have a solution.

Tell me your location details and I'll add it for you.

Right now I've updated you to "Earth", but I'm sure you'd like to be more specific....  Tongue
Thanks for the offer, Ben. For now, let's see what happens with Lee working on it from her end. If no joy, allowing the software to do its thing, then I'll ask you to adjust "Earth" to town, etc.

0 363
Reply
 06-21-2016, 06:19 AM
#15
  • leefish
  • Pisciform Cavalry
  • The Netherlands
User Info
Beamon, I am not going to change anything, I am going to let the group promotions task run when the time comes. You are better off taking Ben up on his offer.

0 822
Reply
 06-21-2016, 10:05 AM
#16
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-21-2016, 06:19 AM)leefish Wrote: Beamon, I am not going to change anything, I am going to let the group promotions task run when the time comes. You are better off taking Ben up on his offer.
Ok, by me, Lee. Do you know when the promotions will eventuate? What are the parameters?

Ben, if you are following this, please replace "EARTH" with "Greenville, SC  USA". That will handle it and many thanks.

0 363
Reply
 06-21-2016, 03:32 PM
#17
  • ben74
  • Senior Member
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
 06-22-2016, 02:36 AM
#18
  • beamon
  • Active Member
  • Greenville, SC USA
User Info
(06-21-2016, 03:32 PM)ben74 Wrote: Done!
Thanks again, Ben. A truly international board, with mods and tech help spread all over the world.

0 363
Reply
 12-15-2016, 12:02 PM
#19
  • GKR1
  • Member
  • San Diego
User Info
I was just about to start a thread about location, it was driving me bunckers not finding where to change it.   I will wait until it popsup for changing.

5 118
Reply
 12-15-2016, 01:20 PM
#20
User Info
Glad I stumbled across this. It was driving me nuts.

1 48
Reply
Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)