07-30-2012, 12:19 PM
  • bjorney
  • Los Angeles
User Info
Hi,

I've been wetshaving for a couple of years now and I've "converted" one son, a sister and a brother-in-law as well.

My wife is interested and I gave her a nice Schick injector (E-model) that she's tried a few times, but she's still not sold. First time she cut herself, then she felt it was hard to get a close shave...

What do the ladies on the Nook recommend? Obviously you have a different angle for legs and underarms than we men have on our faces. My next recommendation to her will be a 1940s SuperSpeed, unless I get some great suggestions here. Smile

Any tips for new lady wetshavers?

0 911
 07-30-2012, 01:47 PM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
I would try a Lady Gillette. They were made specifically for ladies and is a pretty nice DE razor. I have one in my own rotation for my face. It has a fairly long handle which would be nice for shaving legs. You wouldn't have trouble picking one up for a decent price on EBAY.

45 3,955
 07-30-2012, 02:11 PM
  • krissy
  • Cando, North Dakota
User Info
I have a lady Gillette as well as the long handle murker. I like the longer handle razors myself. I have used the hubbies superspeed but I don't care for the shorter handle.

I don't think blade makes that big of a difference but it does some difference. I started out with derby blades but now use whatever the hubby has. I have gotten him multiple kinds.

Honestly I prefer to use a regular cheap disposable for under my arms rather than the DE. The disposable has a smaller head and is easier for me to shave there. So I do use it for that and after it's used it's rinsed dried and put up (out of the tub area) for the next time I want to use it so I get plenty of shavings with it. But I just don't like shaving my underarms with the DE so I don't.

But for legs you can't beat the DE because I get a much closer and better shave with the DE than the disposable. Also it's so much more fun to shave with!

7 405