07-22-2016, 01:41 PM
User Info
It's been quite a while since I bought eyeglass lenses, and the last time I purchased directly from my eye doctor.  I now have a new prescription from a doctor who does not sell glasses, so I need to buy lenses to fit my current frame from a retailer.  I want to go to a walk-in store rather than getting the lenses online.  Fairly near to where I live are Lenscrafters, America's Best, Sears Optical, and Pearle Vision.  Has anyone had experience with one or more of these stores, and if so, what are your recommendations?

Thanks!

207 12,354
 07-22-2016, 01:56 PM
User Info
Avoid avoid avoid. 

Find yourself an independent guy. I'm sure they will be happy to fill your prescription even if you didn't see their doctor. 

I've been wearing glasses since I was 5 years old and always had bad luck with the big chain guys. You can get a superior product and better advice from your local guys.

18 655
 07-22-2016, 02:03 PM
  • MaxP
  • Madison, WI
User Info
(07-22-2016, 01:56 PM)GloryUprising Wrote: Avoid avoid avoid. 

Find yourself an independent guy. I'm sure they will be happy to fill your prescription even if you didn't see their doctor. 

I've been wearing glasses since I was 5 years old and always had bad luck with the big chain guys. You can get a superior product and better advice from your local guys.

+1

60 1,626
 07-22-2016, 03:22 PM
User Info
I have bought the last two pairs from Costco. Their optical lab (it's offsite) gets very high marks, and the prices can't be beat.

Frames = $60 (Timberland this time, a no-name brand last time)
Polycarbonate lenses, with anti-glare and anti-scratch coatings = $75
Edge polish = $10
= $145

My wife went to some local shop and ended up paying $300 after our insurance, so I didn't use the insurance since Costco was still cheaper.