08-09-2016, 06:36 PM
  • NJDJ
  • New Jersey
User Info
Just wanted to say this, because i am so susurprised how true it is: soaps impact the shave almost as much as the razor and blade.  As a newbie, i would never have guessed the degree to which the soap contributes to a bbs/dfs.

10 300
 08-09-2016, 07:06 PM
  • kav
  • Banned
  • east of the sun,west of the moon
User Info
There is no little irony in your observation. In my 8 years we've collectively gone from razors to be had for two low figures to three. Brushes are enjoying a Rennaissance and truly worth every penny. A shaver can comfortably match quality product to any level. And then we have soaps that fall into two categories; well established European brands and the phenomenon of Artisan with enough scent choices and fancifull names and ephemera to satisfy a Pop Art collector and his aromatherapist mistress. I have heard the growing din of ' x artisan soap is better than the imports and x dollars less'. I've watched more than one established soap quietly discontinued or discounted never to return. I have no prejudice against artisan efforts. But people need to rotate one artisan and one triple milled Import for the life of each; crunch the numbers and factor in shipping ( works agasint shavers both ways) and any other qualitative difference and perhaps be just a little more appreciative of what we have, and could easilly lose.

2 3,171
 08-09-2016, 07:48 PM
User Info
While I agree with the OP's statement, I would argue that it's the quality of the lather that impacts the shave more than the soap itself. This is why so many veterans can get great shaves with tallow & non-tallow soaps alike. That said, I have a special place for a couple of artisans who's offerings treat me right every single shave.

29 1,209
 08-10-2016, 02:53 AM
  • BobH
  • Thunder Bay Canada
User Info