08-24-2016, 09:42 AM
  • warhawk
  • Beautiful NorthWest Florida
User Info
Hi Gents:  Hope all is well with you and your families.  So far I am loving my Simpson Chubby 2 Synthetic (ivory handle) that I purchased new in June from Straight Razor Designs.  Love it.  Matter of fact . . . I recently purchased several days ago a used Simpson CH2 Synthetic (butterscotch handle) from a member but for some reason it is slightly shorter and less dense than my ivory handle that I purchased at Straight Razor Design.  Don't get me wrong ... I like it but prefer the synthetic knot on my ivory handle.

So... my question to you gent:  Can I contact Simpson and get a new synthetic knot?  If so can Simpson do that for me?  I have never done this before.  Thanks in advance.  Your help is much appreciated.

WARHAWK

12 333
 08-24-2016, 10:49 AM
  • garyg
  • Great Lakes
User Info
I think that the Simpson synths are exclusively their's, unlike some of the other popular artificial knots.  I'm guessing they only way to go about it would have them do it - since they've never been a purveyor of handleless knots.  Mark Watterson at Simpsons' would be the one to ask -

But, I'd suggest keeping both for a trial period.  You may find the shorter knot preferable after a while .. I can't count the number of items that I wish I had back after they are irretrievably gone.

45 492
 08-24-2016, 11:31 AM
User Info
Simpson does not sell its knots.  I suppose you could ask Simpson if they would re-knot your brush.  Even if they agree to do it, I'm not sure it would be worth the cost to you.  Synthetic knots do have some variations, although not as much as badger knots.  I have three Chubby 2 synthetics, two ivory and one butterscotch.  The three knots have minor variations, but not enough to affect their performance for me.

51 6,435
 08-24-2016, 12:45 PM
  • warhawk
  • Beautiful NorthWest Florida
User Info